Entering the Blogosphere

Well, I thought I would kick this thing off with a look back at 2011, using questions borrowed from Picnic by The Motorway, which is one of the many blogs that I follow.  So, here goes nothing….

 1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Successfully moved to a new country!  Yes, I say ‘successfully’ as some of you may remember the disaster that was the 2009 Gold Coast Attempt.  We do not like to speak of this.

 2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I’m actually not one for making resolutions, mainly because I can never keep them.  My problem is that I think too big – so if I keep it simple and do-able, I may be able to come up with some for 2012….Maybe

 3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

A couple of friends I keep in touch with on Facebook had babies this year – Alana, Anna, Jess, Shannon and Michelle – 3 Girls and 2 Boys.

 4. Did anyone close to you die?

Our family dog Annie passed away in January 😦

 5. What countries did you visit?

Japan, Germany, Austria, Italy and Canada during the month of January.  Was it really this year?  Seems an age ago.  And then we moved to Australia – It’s been a great year for travelling!!

 6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

More contact with friends and family – and to create some close friendships in Melbourne.

 7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

February 22nd – The Day that Changed Christchurch forever.  I don’t think I will forget the memory of that day, the emotions and destruction that took place still haunt me today.  And I was one of the lucky ones.

 8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Probably taking part in the ‘Reaching Your Pinnacle’ 32 Hour Challenge!  I was so nervous going into it, but had so much fun and am so glad that I went through with it.

 9. What was your biggest failure?

Oooh, that is tough.  Probably letting my emotions get the best of me.  I should really work on that.

 10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing major – just a 24 hour flu bug, and the usual winter colds.

 11. What was the best thing you bought?

Totally my ipad.  I am in love with it, and wonder what took me so dang long to get one?!

 12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

I would have to give Mayor Bob Parker props for this one.  He was amazing in dealing with all the earthquakes and being the face of support and hope during a really tough time.

 13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Where to start?!  There has been so much violence and anger in the world this year.   I have heard many news stories that made me feel sick to my stomach and totally unable to comprehend how human beings could act in such disgraceful and horrific ways.

 14. Where did most of your money go?

Setting us up in a new country, and paying off things back home.  Vicious cycle, that.

 15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Nothing is screaming out to me right now, but there have been a few key events, such as seeing Eskimo Joe and Evermore play live, the lead-up to Christmas, Shelley and Robb announcing their trip to Melbourne, Joy the Baker’s book release and going home.

 16. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Probably ‘Somebody That I Used to Know’ because I played it so much!

 17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) Happier or sadder?

Well, this time last year I was gearing up for an amazing overseas adventure, but aside from that, I am happier now.

b) Thinner or fatter?

Haven’t changed much, so I would say the same.

c) Richer or poorer?

Richer, for sure.

 18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Seeing more of Christchurch before it was too late.  And working out – I never work out.

 19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying, eating junk and thinking about doing stuff – just do it!

 20. How did you spend Christmas?

In Melbourne with my man.  Had a skype sesh with my family, and mostly stayed indoors due to the thunder/lightening, hail and rain!

 21. Did you fall in love in 2011?

My ipad has become my new love!

 22. What was your favourite TV programme?

Modern Family, Gossip Girl, Big Brother UK…

 23. Do you dislike anyone now that you didn’t dislike this time last year?

Most probably, but no one significant enough for me to think of right now.

 24. What was the best book you read?

The Autumn Castle, by Kim Wilkins – A captivating story about magic, faeries, real life and an evil monster.

 25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Gotye.  Amazing.  Check Him Out.  For Real.

 26. What did you want and get?

To surprise my Mum at her 50th birthday party!  And boy was she surprised, we couldn’t have timed it better if we tried.  Was a great night, and because I got sick the next day – I was able to stay home longer than planned.

 27. What did you want and not get?

Really wanted to go to Michelle and Tony’s wedding, but a few unforeseen circumstances meant that it was not possible, which I was really upset about.

 28. What was your favourite film of this year?

Would have to be the final instalment of Harry Potter.  I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, I think they ended it well, and as sad as it is for the era to be over, it was brilliant.

 29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

27.  Gross.  I had a quiet birthday this year – a spot of shopping, followed by a takeaway dinner and an earthquake.  Nice.

 30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Probably if we had been able to move to Central Otago, as we had originally planned.  Only because I would be closer to friends and family.  But, Melbourne is the best place for us right now.

 31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

I don’t think I have one?  I’m all about simple outfits with cute shoes/bags/scarves.  I guess accessories are my go-to items to spruce up an outfit.

 32. What kept you sane?

Having quiet time.  Reading a book, playing games on my ipad/computer, and knowing that there were people around to support me.

 33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Gosh, I don’t know.  I’m still a sucker for Jake Gyllenhall, and totally on Team Jacob.

 34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Nothing.  Politics does not stir me at all.  I don’t care much for it, and I hate how they all try to one-up each other, and get the last dig like a bunch of school kids.  Lame.

 35. Who did you miss?

My friends and family back home.  And my grandparents – Grandma passed away years ago, but Grandad only passed away last year.  I think about them often.

 36. Who was the best new person you met?

Tough!  I would say a toss-up between Linda (who I worked with) and Mark/Meira who we met while apartment-hunting in Melbourne.  All of them have NZ connections and they are all wonderful people who made the move overseas a bit easier.

 37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011

Don’t take anything for granted.  People change, the world changes and literally everything you know about where you are can change in an instant.  Make the most of your surroundings because they might not be there tomorrow.

 38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year

Every New Beginning Comes From Some Other Beginnings End.

 So, that’s it.  This is real life.  Read it, Dig it, Write one for yourself and let me know what you think.  Join me on my journey and see where this thing takes us!

Leave a Reply

