What, Why and How?

Ok, so it’s been a while in between posts!  I started this thing off pretty well – I had lots of ideas and lots of time on my hands to write about them.  This past week, though?  Not so much.  It has been bonkers busy at work (whoever told me this was the quietest time of the year has seriously got me worried now), and I have pretty much been holding the fort in my wee area.  With a team member down, and another one training for a new role, I am the only one left!  I have been doing really well to keep everything ticking along, but it has not been easy.  I’ve been getting  headaches (one being a migraine), achy eyes and no motivation to write.  During previous weeks I have been quite happy to get out my iPad and type away in my lunch break, but this week I seriously needed a break from anything computer-related, so I’ve been doing other things instead.

Now that the weekend is nearly over and I have had little time on the computer, I am ready to tackle this again.  The problem is that I have no idea what to write about!  Well, that’s a lie.  I have a few ideas, but I’m not sure any of them are terribly interesting, and none of them are important.

So to get my writing mojo back, I have decided to think about why I am doing this in the first place, and what I want to get out of it.  I am hoping it will help me focus, and really think about the feel and structure of this blog.

So, let’s start at the very beginning…a very good place to start!

Well, I like to write.  Like, really like to write.  I like writing emails, poems and stories.  I even like writing up lists and reminders.  English was my best subject at school, and in my working career I don’t feel like I have had the chance to really be creative with my writing.  Sure, I could have become a journalist, a novelist or a columnist – and maybe I still can – but the idea of writing because I have to, and writing to a deadline does not appeal to me.  At all.  I want to write because I want to write, and about things that I want to write about, so I guess that is one reason why this blog is so good.  I can go for weeks without writing a single thing, or I could put out a post a day.  It is up to me, and me alone.

I could have started up something private, but I like the fact that my friends and family can read what I have written, and let me know what they think.  So far the comments have been really good, so thank you guys!  It means a lot that so many of you have been reading and looking forward to my posts.

Another reason I wanted to start a blog was because I like to read blogs.  There are eight or so that I am actively following right now and they are all super different.  I really like the personal aspect of blogging.  You feel like you know the person and it’s a totally informal environment.  Well, it can be.  Some people write serious blogs, but I don’t really read those ones.  I’m not out to copy any of these blogs that I follow, but they have given me the inspiration to make one for myself.

The hardest part is figuring out what to write.  I’m not skilled enough in any area for my blog to be solely about that.  I like to bake, but I’m not a baker.  I like to shop, but I’m not a fashionista.  I like photography, but I am totes an amateur!  So I think my blog will feature some of these things, but I can’t make any of them the main focus.  Plus, I would most likely get bored writing about the same kinds of things each time.

If I have done something super fun or different, then that is an easy blog post.  If I am reflecting on the past or looking to the future, then that is a kind of easy blog post.  If I am just being me and doing my thing?  Not so easy.  I want you guys to keep reading and following along with me, rather than get bored with daily ramblings about nothing much.  Wait, is this turning into one of those?!

I do like the random nature of my blog so far.  There’s no real theme, and each time I have written about something different, which is kind of cool.  I can totally keep doing that.  I can use my photos to create blog posts, and I can also use things I find online that inspire me or that I am lusting after.  My posts don’t have to be huge and they don’t have to be meaningful.  Just so long as they aren’t too boring, I will be happy.  I guess I have to just write what is on my mind and see where it takes me.

I am open to suggestions, though!

Leave a Reply

