Good to be an Australian

Aussie (shampoo)
Image via Wikipedia

So today is Australia Day.  A day where people can get away with wearing their Aussie flag hats, shorts and shirts.  Where they can yell “Aussie, Aussie, Aussie – Oi, Oi, Oi!” until their hearts are content, and a day to celebrate their Australian-ness and the British discovery of Australia.

Now I love a Public Holiday as much as the next person.  I am not complaining about not having to go to work, especially when the sun is shining, and I am still a little bit recovering from my trip back home.  I am miffed that it is on a Thursday and I did not think ahead and take the Friday off aswell, but seeing as I have just had a few days off, and I am not an actual Australian, I think it’s only fair that it has worked out this way.

There has definitely been a huge fuss made of this day off, with the Australian Flags going up in Docklands two weeks ago, and many

events around the country being planned.  The Australian of the Year Awards were held yesterday, and there are lots of festivals, concerts, citizenship ceremonies and sales taking place today.

Australians are definitely a proud bunch, and I am sad to say that I don’t feel that as much effort seems to go into our Waitangi Day celebrations back home.

Leave a Reply

