Beautiful Bento

These past few weeks I have become a woman obsessed. Last week all I could think or talk about was scrapbooking. I was online looking up sites and ideas and getting very girlishly excited. Products have been ordered and I will post about that in due course.

This week my obsession is Bento lunches! OMG. For those not in the know, Bento is a single serve meal consisting of rice, meat and vegetables popular in Japanese culture. As far as I’m concerned, that’s not enough to get excited about – but the way the food is prepared, packaged and presented is absolutely gorgeous. Who knew food could look so cute?!

If you give me cute animal food, containers with multiple compartments, and a range of accessories and tools, I am a happy lady. Seriously. Plus, it’s such a great way to have a healthy nutritious lunch with variety. The options are endless.

I purchased myself a sweet little bento box in the weekend (with 30% off, thankyouverymuch!), and jumped online for some food ideas. Wow, I seriously had no idea what I was getting myself into. Some people are soo creative! There are nori cutting tools, onigiri rice molds, food dividers and picks all in the most adorable designs you could imagine. Yes I am a 27 year old office worker who wants a Hello Kitty onigiri for my lunch! Deal with it.

So I purchased a few tools, looked online some more, and found a heap more things that I wanted. Don’t you hate that?! But it’s so easy to get carried away with these things, so I’ll wait til my order arrives! Haha.

Last nite I made my first ever Bento lunch. I just used some basic ingredients that we had in the cupboards, but will get some decent stuff during the next grocery shop. I used muffin cases to separate my food, and kept the portion sizes small, especially seeing as my new Bento box is so little.

I ate it for lunch today, and am happy to say it was a success! Good variety, lots of colour and yummy flavours. I’d love to keep it up and try new things every few days 🙂  It was really easy to eat too, and with everything so nicely packaged in the one container, made my lunchtime dash from the office much quicker.

My new Buzzing Bento Box!

Here is my first ever Bento attempt!
Tuna salad with Carrot, Peas and Corn
Scrambled Egg with Snow Peas
Honey Glazed Pumpkin
Cherry Tomatoes
Green Grapes

Looks Good, Right?!

Now I just need to work on my presentation. I’ll try to have a Bento lunch each day this week, and post pictures at the end of the week – see if I can improve on my choices.

One thought on “Beautiful Bento”

Leave a Reply

