Gym Procrastination

Although we have had a few warm days here lately, Summer is definitely on its way out. The days of warm comfort food and snuggling up on the couch in my pyjamas with a hot chocolate and a good book are getting ever closer.

So I have decided it is time to join the gym. I cant expect to eat hot and hearty meals with a generous helping of sourdough all winter and stay in decent shape. Plus, there is a gym in our apartment block. Seriously, take the lift down a few flights and you’re pretty much there. No excuses really.

Except, I joined over a week ago and have so far only been once. I have had a total of 9 days of gymming opportunity and only managed to haul ass once. Once. And that was like the day after I signed up. Really.

Do you want to know the worst thing? The one day I did manage to pop downstairs and sweat on a bicycle going nowhere for 45 minutes, i actually enjoyed it. Yeah. I had a great time. Burnt off some calories (which i no doubt piled straight back on during dinner), released some endorphins and left the place feeling a million sticky sweaty bucks.

So why is it that I havent been back since?

It’s just so hard. It’s hard to leave the house again after working all day, walking home, and all you feel like doing is blobbing. If you want to work out you have to get changed, fill your water bottle, make sure your hair is tied back, and then actually leave your house.

Okay so I’m just lazy. No bigs, it’s not like I don’t walk to and from work every day and them go for a walk at lunch. I’m not doing nothing, just find it hard to do the gym thing.

They played good music, the equipment was clean and easy to use, and there were lots of other people around to pretend race with, so im not sure what else i require from them? Possibly if they had a running chocolate fountain, or free cupcakes on entry, that might help my sitch.

Does anyone else find this problem?  You enjoy working out and keeping fit, but struggle to actually do it?  How do you suck it up and go?

2 thoughts on “Gym Procrastination”

  1. Thanks for reading my blog! As you know, I can totally feel your pain, but maybe I can help a bit too.

    I try to think of the cost of my gym membership. How much are you willing to pay per gym visit. The more you go the cheaper it is. Mine is about $50 a month so if I only go 4 times in a month it cost me almost $18 a visit. If I make it three times a week, or more that number goes down significantly. So I just trick myself into thinking I am getting a better deal – I really am getting better value though 😛

    Sometimes that isn’t enough though – money is money, big deal. I find the easiest way for me to get to the gym after a long day at work is to go straight there. Do not pass go, do not collect $200 [more like do not go home, do not snack on everything in the house upon arrival ;)] Pack your bag in the morning and have a plan of what you will do when you get to the gym. Once you start your work out you will get into it. If you don’t, well at least you pushed yourself to be there for a bit. I give myself the 10 minute rule – do whatever workout you planned on for 10 minutes, if you aren’t motivated or enjoying it by then, you likely will not enjoy your time there [which could make you dread the gym even more]. I find by the end of 10 minutes I have released enough endorphins to make me happy I went and I finish my entire workout. If this isn’t the case – just leave, at least you made the effort!

    Another suggestion [which I am sure you’ve heard before] is to find someone to join you at the gym – this way they can motivate you [or in my case, make me feel guilty] for not working out. If you don’t know anyone at your gym, try a few group exercise classes [if they are offered].

    Finally, change up your routine. I aim to do at least 3 days of weight lifting and 4 days of cardio. This keeps things interesting for me. I try to do 4 different types of cardio – usually step, kickboxing, high impact sports inspired training, and a jog of bike ride. In terms of strength training, each day is dedicated to a section of my body, upper, lower, and then back and core. Seeing the results from strength training usually motivates me enough to stick with that routine.

    Sorry for the ridiculously long comment but hopefully there is some value here for you!

    1. Thanks for the advice 🙂 I feel the same way – if I don’t go as soon as I get home, then it ain’t gunna happen! I love your idea of packing your gear in the morning – so simple, but so brilliant. Maybe I should start taking my gym gear to work and then going straight to the gym rather than stopping off home first? That way I wont be able to see my comfortable couch until after my workout, when I’m sure I will have earned a rest, haha. I also think planning to do 10 minutes is a fantastic idea. Once those 10 minutes are up, you’re usually enjoying it and keen to keep going, but as you say, if not then at least you’ve done something. I might start doing that, rather than punching in 30 minutes on the machine right off the bat!
      Thanks so much for reading my blog, and I really appreciate your tips 🙂

Leave a Reply

