How Good Are Stick Blenders?!

The other weekend I decided that I wanted to start making my own soups, hummus and other sorts of healthy good food, so I went on the hunt for a stick blender.  The annoying part is that I have one at home.  In Christchurch.  In storage.  Totes not helpful.

I had a quick look at Target, not expecting to find what I was after, and instead I found something even better!!  For 3o bucks I got more than just a stick blender.  I got a Bellini stick mixer set!  It comes with a detachable head and four parts – the stick blender, a whisk, a smoothie beaker and a mini processor!!  I could hardly believe my luck.

So I have been itching to use it ever since.  I had a failed attempt at soup (the blender worked fine, the soup did not).  But this weekend came with two absolute successes, which I would like to share.

First, after an impulse buy at Daiso, I decided to make popsicles!

Banana-Passion Pops

Icy Goodness

Was soo easy – all I did was place the below into my processor and turn that bad boy on for a bit.

  • 1 x banana, chopped
  • 1x passionfruit
  • 1c greek yoghurt
  • 1t maple syrup

Then I poured into my cute new popsicle moulds and popped them in the freezer.  The hard part was getting the ice blocks out once they were frozen!!

Beetroot Hummus

The Colour is Gorge!

My other great idea was home-made hummus, using this recipe (I reduced the quantities, and didn’t have garlic so skipped that bit).

Again, into the processor went:

  • 1 x 225g can beetroot, drained
  • 1/2 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1T tahini paste
  • 1T lemon juice

I whizzed all that up, and then added 2x T olive oil, one tablespoon at a time, whizzing after each one.

Both recipes were delicious!  I intend to make more hummus, as it was so quick and easy.  And today, I made more popsicles, substituting strawberries instead of the banana/passionfruit.

What else could I make with my new toy?

Also – how cute is this?! 

Book iPhone Cover

(I totes got one.)

 

One thought on “How Good Are Stick Blenders?!”

Leave a Reply

