Cookie Time

I used to be one of those people who would follow a recipe word for word, step-by-step and panic if I mixed ingredients in the wrong order, or was missing something from the recipe.

Age, experience and reading of food blogs has taught me that sometimes it’s better and more fun to really make a recipe your own. If you want to put chocolate in a cake instead of fruit – then go for it! Sometimes things work out and sometimes they don’t but at least you tried. Plus, I’m not talking huge risks here people, I’m still the girl who has to follow a recipe – it’s just that nowadays I like to make small tweaks so I feel like it’s mine and that I’m kind of creative.

Also, most of my tweaks involve the butter phase of the recipe. We don’t currently have a microwave. I mean, we totally do, but it’s back home in storage so not much help to us here. And I hate creaming butter and sugar. Hate it. That job totally goes in the ‘too hard’ basket of my tiny kitchen. So what I like to do is melt the butter in a pan instead. I know the butter is meant to be room temperature and you’re meant to work your biceps by mixing it with the sugar until it goes all pretty and soft, but I’m not that person. I don’t want to do that. So I fully melt it down and incorporate the sugar that way. I know it’s not a life-altering change, but its little tweaks like this that make me feel in control of the recipe. It doesn’t hugely alter the final product, but I think it does make a difference. Amiright?!

So I adapted this recipe from Smitten Kitchen, mostly because I didn’t actually have chocolate in the house. Wait. What?! I also halved the recipe.

 

Oatmeal and Pecan Cookies

  • 4T butter
  • 3/8c sugar
  • 1/2c brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/2t vanilla essence
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4c flour
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/4t ground cinnamon
  • 1/8t ground nutmeg
  • 1/2c rolled oats
  • 1c chopped pecans
  • 1t freshly grated lemon rind
  • 1/2c sultanas

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees C and line a cookie sheet with baking paper. Melt the butter and both sugars in a pan and then removed from the heat. Add the salt and vanilla and stir. Let cool. Add the egg and beat into the wet mixture.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir until combined.

Stir in the oats, pecans, lemon rind and sultanas.

Use a tablespoon to drop the dough onto the cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until golden (my oven took more like 25 minutes – not sure if it is my tweaking, or my oven). Remove from the oven and allow the cookies to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

Eat while hot!!

Store leftovers in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

