I’ve Totally Changed

This week I have been lucky-slash-unlucky enough to be selected to attend a conference in Sydney for work!  Lucky because it is a fully paid trip to Sydney (boo-yah!) and unlucky because I am not actually attending the event, just exhibiting which means I am going to have to work damn hard to make it worthwhile: sell, sell, smile, sell and sell some more.  No presh, right?

I got up super early on Tuesday morning, went for my couch to 5k run at the gym (ran 6 minutes straight at one point – who knew I had it in me?!  I spent a while trying and failing to get iTunes to recognise my iPhone – seriously, sort your sh*t out!  And I got to the airport with plenty of time to spare, but for some reason my name was called over the loudspeakers to hurry the f#@k up and board the plane.  Oops.  I still had 15 minutes until it was due to leave, but apparently it was of ultimate urgency that I got my body on that plane right-this-instant-young-lady.  It was totally awkward and kind of cool.  The plane ended up being delayed (so not my fault) and we sat on the tarmac for like 30 minutes anyways, so I really should have taken my sweet time.

One thing I realised (aside from the fact that I forgot to bring my headphones) is that I have come a long way.  I don’t consider myself high maintenance, although I did pack 7kg worth of checked luggage for a two night stay out-of-town… what?  You don’t do that?… but I do like to take care of myself and make sure I look good when I leave the house.  In fact, the gym is the only time you would see me out in the real world without a stitch of makeup.  But I digress, my point is that I have bought my gym gear with me, but didn’t pack my hair straightener!!  When did I become that person?

Now I’m not entirely sure if it was a conscious decision – my ghd does take up a bit of space in the old checked luggage, and I am going to be standing behind a table of books for the next two days speaking with English teachers and representing my place of work, so it’s totally a hair-up situation.  Although I have been known to be the “pack more than I need” kind of gal in the past, these days I really try to only take the stuff I am actually going to use, so there’s that.

But also there’s the fact that I actually looked up my hotel to find out if they have a gym and made sure that I packed my gym gear, fully intending to work out while I’m out of town.  I don’t know about you guys, but I am so impressed with myself right now.  Do you think that means that I am finally one of those people who actually enjoys working out?!  I guess it has been a gradual thing, but the couch to 5k app has certainly helped me there.  My body responds well to the interval training – a few weeks ago if you had asked me to run for even one minute straight, I would have collapsed and fainted.  But yesterday I ran for 4 minutes, 6 minutes and 4 minutes again with walking breaks in-between and I found it really easy!  There is hope for me yet.  I am half way to the 5k goal, yippee!

If only I could get back on the diet bandwagon and actually manage to lose some puppy fat while I’m at it.

Would you rather have your hair straighteners or gym bag?  Have you ever used a hotel gym before?  And why is makeup so heavy yet so necessary?!

One thought on “I’ve Totally Changed”

Leave a Reply

