A Workout I Can Work With

For some reason I thought I had talked to you guys about the Couch to 5k challenge I have been doing, but apparently I only mentioned it in passing. So I thought I would dedicate a whole post as I am pretty freakin proud of my progress!

So I started this thing six weeks ago and have been super consistent in going to the gym and getting my workouts done-did.  I only slipped up one week and that was because I was in Sydney – remember, I took my gym gear with me?  Well, I wasn’t able to access the gym at all and was too scared to ask anyone, so I didn’t bother.

The app I am using is called Ease Into 5k and basically it does what the name suggests – takes you slowly from not being able to run at all, to comfortably being able to run for 5kms.  I am not a runner.  Never have been, thought I never will be.  In the past, the only thing that would get these legs moving at a fast rate would be a generous dose of Party Rocking or possibly the promise of chocolate.  Just kidding, I totally can’t dance.

So yeah, I tried running once or twice, nearly died/fainted and decided running wasn’t for me.  Except, everyone seems to do it right?!  I started going to the gym a couple of months ago to burn off some muffin top and tone up for summer.  I worked that cross trainer like a boss!  But it seemed that not matter how hard or fast (that sounds wrong) I was pushing myself, everyone else was doing more.  Those smarmy treadmill-users looked down on me in disgust.  So I decided that if you can’t beat them, join them, right?  There was no way I wanted to run on one, though, so I was kind of stuck.  I reached out to you guys and you showed me the light.

I decided that easing into 5k was a reasonable challenge – the workout only lasts for 30 minutes, three times a week for eight weeks – and in each workout you alternate between running and walking.  Even I could manage that.  It really did start me off slow and after the first workout I felt really good, like I had achieved something.  I’m now on Week 5, Day 3 and am running up to six minutes at a time!  Well, let’s be real here – I’m probably not “running”, but I am definitely jogging quickly and my walks are fast – I find it physically uncomfortable to walk slowly.

Although it has been great to build my fitness up this way, I still have a bit of muffin top action going on and my appetite has totally increased.  I feel like now that I am working out, it’s okay for me to eat rubbish on a daily basis now and then so I’m kind of counter-acting the work out, but sugar and I are totally bff’s – there’s no breaking a love like ours.  So this week I have gone to the gym on my “rest days” too, which is cray-cray I know, but also really good.

I’m not going to get too excited here just yet – tomorrow I have to run for 9 whole minutes straight!  Nine.

Leave a Reply

