To hash, or not to hash? That is the question.

I’m just going to put it right out there and say that I love a good hashtag. Heck, I even like the bad ones. I don’t know what it is about those little dudes, but I just can’t get enough. I am a hashtag enthusiast and I don’t care if you hate them.

01032013.1
Interestingly enough, hashtags have been around for quite some time now, but only really became popular with the help of Twitter. Now you can find them just about anywhere. I only really got into Twitter a few months ago (and totally already have a handful of real people following me – @shell0belle if you wanna get in on the action), but have recently found myself scrolling through my feed on a daily basis. I actually think that if it weren’t for those little hashtags, I probably wouldn’t bother.

It’s gotten to the point where I’m now not only hashing my tweets and Instagram photos, but also text messages, emails and during proper face-to-face conversations with real people. If you’re going to tell me that you’re really hungry but don’t want to eat your home-made lunch? I’m probably going to throw #firstworldproblems right in your face. Not sure whether eat that cupcake because you’re meant to be on a diet? You’re going to get a #yolo from me.

Now I’m not one of those scary crazy people who add like a gazillion hashtags to their Instas – trust me, I have seen it happen, and it’s not a pretty picture. However, for some reason I feel incomplete if I don’t add at least one. Maybe two. Okay, make it three and I’m done. Promise.

So here are my five reasons why (when used correctly) hashtags rule! (#yourewelcome)
1. They can be informative and provide context for your photo, tweet or status update without having to write a novel about it.
2. They are fun to read. I actually like the word-merge and enjoy figuring out what the hashie is for. Kind of like a secret code but not really.
3. You can find other like-minded individuals who have used the same hashie, or enter competitions/join a common thread/link yourself to a big event by using a hashie that has been set up by someone else.
4. Sometimes they are really funny and often are relatable.
5. They are cute – # – need I say more?

#hashtagsforthewin #somebodystopmenow

2 thoughts on “To hash, or not to hash? That is the question.”

Leave a Reply

