“Meeting” the Man behind the Book

Today I was looking for information on the new Kingkiller Chronicle title (The Doors of Stone) because I remembered that I thought I had read somewhere it was due for release next month. It’s not, and there’s no release date for it yet, but during my search I stumbled upon the author’s blog.

First of all, I’m impressed that a dude who writes for a living has the time/motivation to keep a blog at all, but also his words are magic. Patrick Rothfuss writes like a river flows – gentle, slow but full of purpose. I absolutely loved reading both The Name of the Wind and The Wise Mans Fear and I cannot wait to read The Doors of Stone – I know he’s good. But these stories came from his brain – he can write what he wants and we’ll get sucked in, anticipating the next adventure, hungry for the next chapter – it’s a given. The books are amazing and the story is captivating. But it’s not a real story.

His blog on the other hand, is real. He let’s you in to his life, talks about his partner and son, his projects and all the while you’re lost in the words he has written, as if its another of his wonderful stories and not about a trip he took to the supermarket. I knew he was good, but now I realise the man has a gift! And I’m so glad he can share it with us.

If you haven’t read The Kingkiller Chronicles yet, I seriously urge you to give them a go. And if you think they’re not for you – read his blog – this particular entry really warmed my heart and gave me the motivation to write again:

http://blog.patrickrothfuss.com/2013/02/concerning-love/

Ideas are churning in my brain and future blog posts are on the horizon. Sure, I’m no Patrick Rothfuss, but I do enjoy writing and want to get better. The only way for me to do that is to keep at it.

Leave a Reply

