Melbourne Photography Walk

For Christmas I was lucky enough to receive a voucher for DJB World Photography to take part in a photography walk around Melbourne! I have always wanted to do a photography session and recently bought myself a new camera, so could not wait to get out there and learn how to use it!

At first I was worried that my little camera wouldn’t be very good for this type of session, but was assured that it would be fine! So long as your camera has a Manual setting, you’re good to go.

There are a few different walks to take part in via DJB, but I booked myself in for the Melbourne city lights and laneways walk for Friday Feb 22nd.

There were eight of us were in attendance, along with our host, Claire. First she explained how to use the Manual setting on our cameras and which bits were important to capture great photos (namely shutter speed, aperture and iSO).

We were then taken to a few different points of interest around the city where we had a free reign to snap until our hearts were content. I found the walk really useful and it was great being in such a small group where you could get feedback and ask questions. After the two hours was up, I had learned a lot and had great fun playing with my new toy!

Claire took photos of us during the session, you can see these here.

I still have a lot of work to do to improve my photography skills, but I’d like to share a few of my favourite snaps with ya’ll. I haven’t edited these at all, so they could do with a bit of work, but I think they really show how great my little camera is!

Once I took this one, I was off!
Once I took this one, I was off!

IMG_0119

IMG_0131

IMG_0135

IMG_0140

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

IMG_0234

6 thoughts on “Melbourne Photography Walk”

    1. Thank you 🙂 That is actually my favourite one, too. Am thinking I might have to get that one framed or put on a canvas – would make a great wall hanging in my apartment!

  1. Pingback: Thing 9 |

Leave a Reply

