ANZAC Day 2013

Last year I wrote probably one of my proudest blog posts (and I still stick by that today) – not because I got a tonne of views (I didn’t) or because everyone gushed about how amazing it was (they didn’t), but because it meant something to me. I like the way it was written and am glad I was able to share these memories with whomever was interested to read about them.
This is totally cheating, but I am re-posting it this year, because nothing has changed for me in the way I feel about ANZAC Day and as I attended the Dawn Service this morning, I feel that a little reflection is necessary.

But first, a couple of average photos:

Walking to the Service. The trees were lit up by the street lights.
Walking to the Service. The trees were lit up by the street lights.

Although it is a time for reflection and remembrance, I always get such a positive vibe while walking to the service – everyone heading in the same direction – it’s dark, it’s quiet, we’re all lost in our own thoughts, and here for a similar purpose. For once, everyone is united as they huddle together in the cold.

Excuse the grain - this was as close as we could get to the service this year!
Excuse the grain – this was as close as we could get to the service this year!

And for last years post about ANZAC Day, here is the link below:

https://michelle0harvey.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/lest-we-forget/

Leave a Reply

