Review: Loreal Preference Wild Ombres

**Disclaimer: this post is full of photos taken with my phone and no makeup – you have been warned!**

I have wanted an ombre hair colour for quite some time now. Not only has it become a popular style for celebrities and normal people alike, but I think it looks so effortless and carefree!

However, after contacting a couple of salons and finding out how much it would cost – upwards of $220.00 thank you very much – I decided maybe ombre wasn’t for me.

Then, I saw this ad and literally jumped for joy! Who needs a trained professional when you can do it yourself?!

First thing was first though – my current hair colour was pretty lack-lustre, to put it mildly. I can’t even remember the last time I dyed it, and due to my thyroid condition, I have a lot of mini greys around my hairline. So not cute. So I dyed my whole head with Schwarzkopf Perfect Mousse in 4-65 Chocolate Brown. I just love this stuff! I’ve never been one of those girls who can just grab a packet of hair-dye and do it myself. Until they bought out mousse – this dye is so easy to apply and the coverage is fantastic.

Hmmm...no wonder no-one noticed this dye job!
Hmmm…no wonder no-one noticed this dye job!

I wasn’t sure how the ombre would go after colour-treating my hair, so I left it as it was for a week and made sure to wash it a couple of times so the colour would settle. Then, I attempted the ombre – Loreal Preference Wild Ombres No.2. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little nervous doing this myself – so many things could go wrong! But, I found that the instructions were super clear and the applicator brush was a cinch to use. I think because of my nervousness, I didn’t apply as much product as I probably could have. Couple that with the fact that my hair was recently colour-treated, the ombre effect I achieved was very subtle. But, I loved it all the same.

Pre and post Ombre
Pre and post Ombre

Fast-forward a week, and after spotting a few other Melbournites sporting ombre hair, I started to re-think my decision. If I was going to go ombre, then I needed to go all the way! So, I bought another packet (this time on special, yuss!) and had another go over the weekend. This time, I employed my trusted partner in crime, which not only ensured my hair was even and well-covered, but meant that if it turned out bad, I’d have someone else to blame!

4

Luckily for me, he was an absolute success! I love the colour and am so happy with the gradient – the blonde is just the colour I was hoping to achieve, and I love how it looks.

Although it took me two goes, and three dye-jobs in all, it still cost a lot less than if I had gotten it professionally done, and although I am slightly biased, I think it looks better than some salon photographs I have seen.

3

I would definitely recommend Loreal Wild Ombres for anyone who is looking to get am ombre style but doesn’t want the price tag that goes along with it! It’s really easy to apply yourself, but I would suggest that if you aren’t confident with dyeing your own hair, then having a helper is totes the way to go.

Has anyone else tried an at-home ombre? How do you think it compares to getting it done at a salon?

2 thoughts on “Review: Loreal Preference Wild Ombres”

Leave a Reply

