Review: Born to Die – Paradise Edition

Lana Del Rey - Summertime Sadness*
Lana Del Rey – Summertime Sadness* (Photo credit: ● Jary ●)

I’m such a noob sometimes. I always seem to be behind the trend, only catching on to *hot new* things once most people are already getting over them. But when I do find things that I like, I go all out. Case in point – Lana Del Rey. I am currently and officially obsessed. And maybe a teensy bit in love. And yes, I realise she’s been big for a while now, so what?

The first time I heard her beautiful voice was actually over a year ago, when I was visiting family back home – my younger sisters were driving me around and had her music playing. Yes that’s right; my sisters are trendier than me. Also, they don’t say trendy, so there’s that. Even my 7-year-old niece was a fan, singing along to ‘Summertime Sadness’ in the car. But I continued on, playing my own favourite artists, not stepping outside of my musical box.

Fast forward to a couple weeks ago and the stars started aligning – I was listening to the Joy the Baker podcast on my walk home one day and they mentioned her album, I thought – oh yeah, i like that Summertime Sadness song, I should look her up. I didn’t and then when we were driving around on the Gold Coast last weekend I heard the remix version of the song multiple times on the radio, so finally, finally I took the hint and looked her up this week – I still wasn’t sure if her style was my kind of music, but after listening to the preview on iTunes, I thought ‘what the heck’ – her Born to Die: The Paradise Edition album was only 10 bucks at my local music store, so what did I have to lose?

Oh my god, you guys. Ah-MAZE-ing. Amazing. I listened to the whole album while doing a mind-numbing job at work the other day, and I have been floating along on her wave ever since. I love how old school Hollywood she is, yet with these grungy gangster undertones. Her voice is like an angels, for reals and her music is captivating. I realised that I had actually heard a few of her songs before – Blue Jeans, Video Games and Radio – thanks to my sisters, I guess – and I am now a total fangirl. I feel almost haunted by her songs and lyrics, her style is like nothing I have heard before – although at times she has a Gwen Stefani sound, amiright? Each new song is like something out of a movie, yet honest and real at the same time.

Aside from the songs mentioned above, which you guys have all probably heard of and listened to before; my favourite song on this album has to be ‘Bel Air’ – so magical, angelic and dreamy:

She is absolutely stunning and extremely talented – I feel like this will be my Summer album this year because I can’t see myself getting sick of it anytime soon.

Who else is a LDR fan? Is that even a thing – LDR? And what other artists should I be checking out?

One thought on “Review: Born to Die – Paradise Edition”

Leave a Reply

