Candles for Book Lovers

It is no secret that I love to read.
And some of you may even know about my love for candles.
So when I stumbled across Frostbeard Studio on Etsy, I had to find out more!
Making handcrafted pottery and soy candles for nerds and book-lovers alike, Frostbeard is cute,  quirky and totally original.

Many of their candles have been created with popular books in mind – Harry Potter, The Hobbit, The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones to name a few.
And if you’re favourite book isn’t featured, you could always go for a scent that book lovers can relate to, such as Bookstore or Oxford Library.

As a HUGE Harry Potter fan, it was a no brainer for me to get Butterbeer and Dumbledore’s Office; – and I believe they even have Hogwarts House flavours too, which aren’t online yet.
I almost bought The Shire or Winterfell, but as Old Books was the first candle I saw and got me to their store in the first place, I decided to go with that instead.
Besides, who doesn’t love the smell of an old book?!

Frostbeard1
It’s a good thing I’m not into Doctor Who or Sherlock Holmes, or my decision would likely have been even tougher!

A short two weeks after placing my order, the candles arrived and I could not wait to test them out!
I was super impressed with the packaging – all three candles survived their overseas journey; the only damage was a slight crack in one of the lids – totes no bigs and easily fixed.

Of course the first thing I did upon opening the box up (after squealing in delight!) was to sniff each candle, haha.
The scents are pretty well matched to the description listed on their site, and are strong but not over-powering out of the jar.
However, once lit, each candle emits a soft scent that fills the empty spaces of a room nicely.
Barely noticeable, yet comforting and gentle.

Dumbledore’s Office
Dumbledore's Office
Includes the scents of Cedarwood, Vanilla, Fireplace and Lemon – you know how Dumbledore loved his sherbet lemons!
To me, this candle smells quite musky and masculine, like aftershave. The secondary note is definitely the fireplace. I can just imagine Dumbledore sitting at his desk, fire blazing; his various silver instruments whirring on their tables, the previous headmasters snoring in their frames on the walls; and Fawkes the phoenix preening himself quietly in the corner.
I was worried this candle would be too strong to sit on my desk (you know, so it could become ‘Michelle’s Office’…..*cough, cough*) but once it was burning, the scent was quite subtle and warm.

Butterbeer
Butterbeer
Smells like Butterscotch, Creme Brulee and Butter Rum……and boy does it!
This candle smells good enough to eat, for sure.
It’s very buttery and caramely (pretty sure that’s a word), with a hint of rum, to me – and exactly how I would expect Butterbeer to smell.

Old Books
Old Books
With tones of Timber, White Tea, Dirt, Newspaper, Must and Leather.
I have to admit, this candle doesn’t smell as I expected. I can’t place the scent, but it does smell oddly familiar.
Timber and Ink are strong flavours here, but again when burning, this candle is mild.

I am so impressed with the quality of these candles, and the real smells they create.
I will definitely be ordering from them again.

Frostbeard2

The hardest part is deciding which flavours to get!

2 thoughts on “Candles for Book Lovers”

Leave a Reply

