30 Things to do Before 30: Recap

Three years ago – just before my 27th birthday – I decided to put together a list of 30 things I wanted to do before turning the dreaded 30. I figured that I wanted to make the most of my late 20’s; experience new things, push my limits, get out of my comfort zone, and generally have some fun.

Spoiler alert! Bungee jumping, skydiving, holding tarantulas and eating pigs balls are not on my list; but to be fair, my comfort zone is pretty small – a lot of normal day-to-day experiences tend to freak me out.

There was no point in me listing anything that I knew I wouldn’t want to do. Let’s be real – I wanted a list that was achievable, while still attempting some activities I hadn’t done before.

And so my mediocre list was born. I have already mentioned this list here and here, but now that my 30th is just around the corner, it’s time to get serious.

How many items have I really completed?

Do I actually care?

Do YOU care?

Jury’s still out on that one.

But rather than displaying my triumphs and tribulations all at once, instead I am going to share one thing from my list each day for the next 30 days. I know, right?!

There is a story behind each thing, and I even have photos for some. I can feel the excitement mounting.

Just wait til you see me talk my way out of the things I haven’t done yet!

I know you’re all perched on the edges of your seats right now, so I’ll put you out of your misery and get this show on the road!

Thing 1: Accept More Invites – Say Yes!

Now, this may seem like an odd thing to put on my list, but those of you who know me know that I am quite lazy and enjoy the comfort of my daily routine – which does not often involve going anywhere besides work and home.

So I set myself a challenge to say yes more often.

It’s a hard thing to calculate really, but I do feel like this has stuck in the back of my mind over the past three years.

I am now more open to seeing people outside of work, attending more events, speaking up and taking control of my work-life, and generally improving my social life.

I have stuck around for after-work drinks; attended Christmas parties; jumped on stage during a random Bollywood dance lesson; taken on more responsibilities at work, and generally made some great new friends, so I call this one a win.

Me taking part in the 48 hour RYP Challenge
Taking part in the 48 hour RYP Challenge with People from Work. #awkwardmuch
Playing Petanque at lunch with People from Work
Playing Petanque at lunch with People from Work. #gameface
Jumping into an enclosure at Ballarat Bird Santuary
Jumping into an enclosure at Ballarat Bird Sanctuary. #ithinkhelikesme
Free Time During a Solo Work Trip to Sydney.
Free Time During a Solo Work Trip to Sydney.
Learning how to use my Camera. Photo Borrowed from DJB Photography: http://school.djbworldphotography.com/blog/photography-walk-melbourne-february-22-2013-city-lights-and-laneways/
Learning how to use my Camera. Photo Borrowed from DJB Photography: http://school.djbworldphotography.com/blog/photography-walk-melbourne-february-22-2013-city-lights-and-laneways/
Got Roped into Dressing up and Attending a Work Christmas Party. #hippie
Got Roped into Dressing up and Attending a Work Christmas Party. #hippie
Leave a Reply

