Thing 12

Thing 12: Learn How to Change Car Tyre/Oil etc.

Uh-huh, yep, no.

The fact that I had to put ‘etc’ on the end of this thing, really proves how little I know about car maintenance.

Sure, I took my beloved car Wendy in for her Warrant of Fitness regularly, knew (and kind of enjoyed) filling her with petrol, and even pumped up her tyres now and then; but that was where my car-ownership responsibilities ended.

Just read back over how long it took me to get my dang licence in the first place! Clearly I was not into it at all.

I got my first car when I was 25 years old. After years of either walking, taking the bus, being a passenger or using my partners old car; the time finally came when I really needed a car of my own.

She was an older car, but so well cared for, having previously been owned by a lovely elderly lady. Totally a nana car, but she was easy to drive, had low kms and was in near-new condition.

We were involved in one accident together – my first. Someone hit us from behind and I was scared to look at her, but she showed no signs of damage from the outside. Internally, it was a different story, but we got her fixed up and she was good as new.

She also got me through the Christchurch earthquake of 2011. Being a small car, I was terrified she wouldn’t be able to get me home once the streets broke apart and flooded, but somehow we got there with little damage done.

I loved having my own car and was really sad when I had to sell her once we moved to Australia.

My Mum mentioned that she and my sister were planning on attending some workshops down home on car maintenance like changing tyres and oil, and I thought that was a great idea! So much better to be able to fix these things ourselves than rely on a dude to rescue us; so I added it to my list.

And I’m yet to cross this one off.

I never quite got around to doing this thing in Christchurch; and now living in Australia, we walk everywhere. Or take the tram or train. I don’t have a car, and don’t really need one at this point, but it is still something I would like to learn one day.

Wendy! Isn't she a beauty?!
Wendy! Isn’t she a beauty?!
Baylee Liked her too. She set up camp in the boot after the 2011 earthquake.
Baylee Liked her too. She set up camp in the boot after the 2011 earthquake.
Leave a Reply

