Makeup Review from a Novice

What a busy month May has been so far! Now I did intentionally take a break from blogging after my 30 days of posts, but I didn’t intend for it to last quite so long.

My days since turning the dreaded 30 have not felt all that different from when I was 29 (surprise, surprise!), but they have been full – with work, online shopping, eating tasty treats, obsessing over Game of Thrones and getting sick – it’s all happening around here!

So now I am back and ready to share some goodies with you.

Now, I have always enjoyed watching beauty tutorials on YouTube. Essie Button, JaaackJack, Zoella and Tess Christine are a few that I watch on the regular.
However lately, I have become slightly obsessed – I blame three whole days of doing nothing but laying on my couch/bed watching video after video while I was sick. What else is a girl to do, right?

So, I recently ordered some new makeup from Tarte – and while I am by no means a makeup expert (seriously, don’t really have a clue!), I have become inspired to share my wares and the end result with you guys here.

I had heard a lot about the Amazonian Clay foundation, and was really keen to give it a try. I must admit, I was pretty excited when I saw they were offering a customised kit of the range, which included full sized products of each item. I was sold. Unfortunately it doesn’t look as though this kit is still available, so I’m glad I nabbed one when I did!

I think I would have to say that one of my main makeup obsessions is mascara – so naturally, I also ordered a mascara in the same range, as the kit didn’t include one.

Includes: Makeup bag,
The Kit Included: Makeup bag, Airbuki Brush, Blush, Foundation, Eyeshadow Set & Lipstick.

Tarte2

Firstly can I say that the Airbuki brush is gorgeous! It feels really lovely and soft on my skin and makes applying the foundation really easy. The powder foundation is lightweight and you can really build up the colour without looking like you’ve caked it on. In saying that, I think it might be slightly too pale for my skin, but a bit of bronzer fixes that right up. I usually wear a liquid foundation, so I think also that I just need to get used to powder again. The blush I chose is a gorgeous pop of colour for my cheeks and the lipstick ties everything together nicely. I’m still working out the eye shadows – they are really pigmented on my brush, but I seem to struggle in applying an even colour on my lids. The colours are so pretty, but because I love the Urban Decay Naked Palettes so much, I really find that no other eyeshadow has compared in terms of quality and application. However, I absolutely love the mascara! It is called a smart mascara and apparently treats any concerns such as dryness and damage to your eyelashes. I don’t really get all the technical details, but can say that it really makes my eyes pop, is easy to apply and has become an instant favourite in my stash!

Now for the scary part – here I am after testing out my new Tarte hoard. All in all, I am really impressed with this brand. My skin is oily/combination, and for once I didn’t have to blot my face throughout the day to control the shine. My makeup looked just as good at the end of the day as it did in the below photo – yay! Now I am really hanging out for Sephora to hit our shores next year so it’s not so difficult to get my hands on this stuff!

Makeup selfie #firsttimeforeverything
Makeup Selfie #firsttimeforeverything

I am wearing:
Amazonian clay full coverage airbrush foundation in light beige (light skin with pink undertones)
Amazonian clay 12-hour blush in adored (shimmering light pink)
Beauty & the box Amazonian clay eyeshadow quad in envoke the smoke
Glamazon™ pure performance 12-hour lipstick in whimsy (bright pink)
Gifted™ Amazonian clay smart mascara

So, what do you think? Is anyone interested in posts like this from a complete novice? How did I do?

Leave a Reply

