Tips to Improve Your Emotional Well-being

Without realising it, or consciously thinking about it, I was looking forward to September. September means Spring, and new beginnings.

August was full. It was tough. It was too much.

The last week of August especially was a challenge for me. I felt physically exhausted. Tired every single day. Worn out. Over it.

As much as I tried to push through it, there was just so much negative energy all around me. It was thick.

And, if you didn’t already know this about me, I am an emotional sponge. I naturally, without conscious thought, soak up whatever vibes are floating around me, and take them on myself. So throughout the month of August, I was soaking up all that negativity, taking it away from other people, and using my own energy to get rid of it.

No wonder I was exhausted.

And although the first day of September was literally full of new beginnings – new week, new month, and new season; it was also the perfect time for me to take a step back and think about how to use my energy more wisely, to benefit myself as well as others.

I’ve gone back to my emotional drawing board and re-discovered  some tools that I haven’t used for a while; and without looking for them, I’ve also found some great new tools that are taking me to another level. I do believe everything happens for a reason, and I’d like to share these tools and techniques with you guys!

Oil Burning
My oil burner has been sitting collecting dust for months. So I cleaned her up and have been using it every single day since the end of August. My current oil of choice is the ‘Air’ blend from Perfect Potion. With notes of eucalyptus, lavender and lemon, it’s an invigorating and refreshing scent that clears my mind and reminds me of cool mountain air.

Meditation
I’ve had the 1 Giant Mind app on my phone for a few months now, but hadn’t gotten around to using it. It is a great little app for those of us new to meditation, and although I have only been using it for a week, after each session I feel better than I did beforehand.

Oracle Cards
I have been wanting to get a set of Oracle Cards for quite some time, but hadn’t found any that appealed to me. Until I saw this photo on Instagram, that is! I immediately went to The Little Sage website and was hooked. I love the idea of living an intuitive life, and found so many great articles on this site! I didn’t waste much time in ordering my set of Oracle Cards, and have enjoyed finding out what my daily affirmation is.

Journaling
As part of my regular meditation and oracle card sessions, I have started journaling. I love writing things down, and have found it quite therapeutic to put on paper how I am feeling before and after each session. It’s also a great way to track my progress, and release any negativity that has built up.

Healthy Eating
It’s a no-brainer really, but eating healthy always makes me feel better. This week I’ve been chowing down on lots of fresh fruit and vegetables, and have completely cut sugar out of my daily cup of tea or coffee.

Physical Activity
I must admit, I have become very lazy of late. The Winter months provide little motivation to get active! But, in saying that, I did join a social netball team at the start of August and have been loving our weekly games. I’ve met a great group of ladies and have really enjoyed getting back into this awesome sport!

I’d love to hear if anyone else out there is also an emotional sponge?
What do you do to ensure your days are balanced and harmonious?

Leave a Reply

