This Week I’m Loving…Cranstachio Cookies!

Yes, you might be thinking this post is a cop-out, and you’re probably correct. I feel like I haven’t done a proper “This Week I’m Loving” post for a while, but inspiration has been lacking of late.

I’m totally not even sure if Cranstachio is a real thing, but let’s go with it, shall we? I saw a lovely picture on Pinterest a few weeks ago for Cranberry Pistachio cookies and decided to make some for myself.

Cookie Tower

I’ve used my go-to basic biscuit recipe as a base, which I have used for years! Perfect soft cookies every time. Except for that one time when I burnt them all, oops. I have a feeling it might have originated from an Edmonds cookbook (a staple in most New Zealand kitchens), but I have no proof so please don’t hold me to that one.
So, here we go…

Cranstachio Cookies

  • 125g Butter
  • 1/2c Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 3/4c Flour
  • 1t Baking Powder

So this is the “Basic Biscuit” recipe. You can pretty much add whatever you like to this and be as creative as you want. They are also pretty good as is, although a little plain for my taste. So to this I added:

  • 3/4c Pistachios, ground up (you can either do this yourself using a food processor, or buy them ground)
  • Green Food Colouring (I added a bit too much, but you can make them as light or dark as you want)
  • 1/2c Dried Cranberries

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius and prepare a cookie tray with oil/butter or baking paper. Beat the Butter and Sugar together in a large bowl, then beat the Egg and Food Colouring into this mixture. Mix in the Flour and Baking Powder and add the Pistachios and Cranberries. Roll the mixture into small balls, and flatten slightly with a fork. Cook for 20 minutes or until brown. Remove from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

Before Hitting Oven-Town

These cookies are light and soft with a mild hint of pistachios. These would make perfect Christmas cookies, although I think next time I would use less food colouring and more pistachios!

 

2 thoughts on “This Week I’m Loving…Cranstachio Cookies!”

Leave a comment